Formal examinations are the only effective way to assess a student's performance. Continual assessment such as course work and projects is not a satisfactory way to do this? To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Some people are of the opinion that conducting examinations is the only way of evaluating student's capabilities, whereas others believe that there are alternate ways of doing so like assignments and projects. In my opinion, schools and universities should be encouraged to abandon formal exams due various reasons including rising stress levels among the young generations. In the first place, it cannot be denied that tests are definitely a way to check student's knowledge and ability to retain information. For example, having exams at regular intervals ensures that children take their studies seriously and make an effort to learn whatever is being taught to them in classes by their professors. Therefore, it helps them to improve their learning abilities. In addition to this, students learn how to perform effectively under pressure. For these reasons, some folks still regard examinations as important and hence support the view that these should not be eradicated from educational curriculum. On the other hand, there are people who are not in favour of formal exams and feel that these should be replaced by course work and projects. Some students come under a lot of stress as their test dates approach that it affects their health in an adverse manner. Moreover, they are unable to perform well on the test day because of nervousness and anxiety. They feel that if they are unable to achieve good scores, they will not be be able to do well in life. For instance, a research study shows that 5 percent of the students who fail in board exams in India become so depressed that they commit suicide and end their precious lives. Therefore, overall educational authorities should take these facts into consideration and acknowledge the fact that continual assesment through assignments can also be a sole criteria for grading a student's performance. To conclude, it is true that no doubt exams are an easier and traditional way to judge student's abilities and intelligence level, but the idea that they are the only way of doing so is completley preposterous. Other measures also exist to evaluate pupil's performance like course work and assignments which are absoultely satisfactory. In my opinion, exams should be banned in the near future.