In some countries, more and more people are becoming interested in finding out about the history of the house or building they live in. What are the reasons for this? How can people research this?

Real estate buyers are becoming more interested in past information of the building they are buying, which is a common trend around the world. It seems to me that there are two main reasons, including safety concern and psychological belief and several ways to investigate the history of a house. Firstly, researching a home`s past allows people to make sure about its architectural history for preservation purposes. For example, it is essential to know when it was built, what it is built of, what changes had been made, or how it was used before. This detailed information can help meet the security requirements of the owners so that they can know exactly what changes and repairs need to be made. Secondly, understanding the history of the house in which you live is one of the reasons to live happily. No one wants to live in a house where some dreadful events had happened, such as murder or violence. Tracing the history of old houses could be more challenging than contemporary houses. However there can be several ways to explore the history. First, using internet seems possible to compile initial facts since a wide range of records are becoming more available online today. Official websites can be more reliable and provide information on resources and where to find them. Second, information on the history of houses or buildings can be obtained from local authorities, such as National Archives and Property Registry. In addition, real estate realtors should be able to assist the purchasers with finding the basic information, like previous owners. In conclusion, it appears that feeling satisfied and safe in the house we live in is a reason to discover its history, and online resources and local authorities could be the main source of the information.