Most people have forgotten the meaning behind traditional or religious festivals; during festival periods, people nowadays only want to enjoy themselves. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Nowadays mankind has a different mindset in terms of traditional and religious festivals. While in ancient times, festivals made upon for providing contentment of powerful spiritual figures and therefore being able to avoid these figure's anger, today many people think these festivals as a ''day off'' or relief from the day to day stress of their hectic lives. I completely agree with this statement, because the centuries do not only changed mankind's mind but also caused the transition of culture. Obviously, the old humankind has his own reasons for believing a scary god and trying to survive by his own methods. After the improvement of knowledge about science, now the need to sacrifice something or to celebrate victory of gods has diminished. Although religion and traditions are not only comprised of these contents, due to the historic knowledge, it could be easily understood that many festivals had sourced because of the need of a force figure. For the lonely mankind, the need for a motivation is understandable while surviving from the natural processes of life, such as protecting themselves from weather conditions, or luck for the cultivation season, or not to die in the frequently occured wars. Since the disasters happened to our ancestors such as thunder storms are now our daily morning news, the religion has somehow become an aspect of life rather than a protector against destiny. Modern human has different type of stressors such as work related anxieties, financial burdens or mostly interpersonal relationship problems. Instead of making some sacrifices in the name of god, they prefer to enjoy recreational activities, having vacations in some different locations and trying to understand ancient cultures as a hobby. To conclude, it is not surprising that ancient religious and traditional festivals do not have the same meaning in this modern world, since the people in this era have their unique problems and their own mindsets.