In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying. To what extend do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Nowadays due to improvements in technologies, many sorts of information have become as accessible as a single click of a computer’s mouse button. It is believed that these advancements will bring various benefits in the field of reading. Since many people will opt for the Internet to read digital versions of books and newspapers without paying, hard copies of those materials will be out of use soon. In this essay, I will try to justify my viewpoint on why reading online is likely to prosper in the future. The primary factor for choosing to read online by many people in the future would be that this way of attaining information is less harmful to the environment. It is a known fact that the paper producing process is based on using cellulose derived mostly from fresh-cut trees and an increase in the amount of publication will eventually require more trees to be chopped down to meet the growing demand. Thus, virtual publications would be the perfect solution to preserve nature in addition to other initiatives. Another reason that may explain the foreseen growth of the popularity of digital publications is unpaid access to those sources. While a yearly subscription to a traditional newspaper can cost from 50 to 200 manat in Azerbaijan, and the price of a book with a hardcover also varies between 8 and 20 manat, the online version of the same materials would be far cheaper as publication houses simply can rule out the big share of expenditure allocated for purchasing paper, printing process, and delivering service. In conclusion, every part of our life is penetrated by enhancements in information technologies and this trend will not pass along without having an impact on the way how we read. I certainly agree with the notion that due to environmental costs and a human desire to get service without paying for it, the number of people preferring online reading will eventually surpass the number of those who stick to the traditional way of reading.