In most countries, the number of people owning their own private cars is on the rise. Is this a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, in many societies, a growing number of individuals opt for possessing private cars. Despite some harmful consequences to the environment, people may mostly benefit from private vehicle ownership in various ways. The primary downside of raising the quantity of private cars is its great contribution to the environmental detriments. On the one hand, cars are seemed to be the major source of air pollution, especially in big cities. According to the World Carfree Network (WCN), cars account for about 14% of global carbon emissions, which in turn begets the depletion of the Ozone layer. On the other hand, the growing number of cars stands for the increasing level of noise pollution. This harmful effect may impose a stressful impact on city inhabitants causing mostly psychological disorders, as well as may disturb wild animals in their habitats. Nevertheless, it is also worth noting that having private cars have some obvious advantages for individuals. A notable upside of owning a private car is that it gives a sense of privacy. For example, instead of commuting in the crowded public transports between places of residence and working, this distance may be done by personal means of transportation within a short period of time and in a relaxing mode. Even more, while driving people may have a chance to make private phone or video calls which can be hardly done in buses or trains. Another benefit of possessing private transport is a provided opportunity for free mobility. People with a personal vehicle can go anywhere they want without depending on public transportation. Moreover, people are free to carry an unlimited amount of luggage not worried about the transportation fee for it. To conclude, albeit the rising number of private cars may impose dangerous impacts on natural surroundings, they may benefit people by providing them with senses of autonomy and privacy.