Some people think that it is beneficial for children to do paid work, while others think that it can be harmful for children. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Some people believe that children can gain a wealth of experience by doing waged labour, while others argue that it appears to be detrimental for them. In my opinion, paid work poses more problems for children compared to its advantages. On the positive side, salaried employment helps children appreciate the value of money when they understand they have to do their utmost to earn it. As a result, they would learn the essential skills for financial management and an idea of how to spend money wisely. This proves to be useful when, as adults, they need to balance their finances. Thus, working develops a sense of responsibility as well as independence. Knowing these skills at an early stage enables children to become self-supporting adults in the future as well as fully prepared to enter the competitive workforce and society. However, a gainful occupation might bring about some drawbacks to youngsters. One potentially dangerous problem is that it exposes them to child exploitation. In some nations where children employment laws still not come to enforcement, they may end up working under extreme conditions or even in life-threatening situations for negligible wages. Another obvious issue is that working may affect a child’s ability to focus on their school work. This is a concern as only with a strong academic performance can a child hope to advance as an adult. To sum up, being exploited or struggling with academic grades far outweighs any of the benefits that could result from children doing paid employment.