In many countries children are engaged in some kind of paid work. Some people regard this as completely wrong, while others consider it as valuable work experience, important for learning and taking responsibility. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In recent times, children are encouraged to work for money in many parts of the world in order to gain experience. This new trend is practised in many countries especially during summer and winter breaks. Some think it is a bad idea to introduce handling money at young age while others think jobs that pay can help to gain experience and knowledge. Both sides of this argument will be analysed before a reasoned conclusion is drawn. Firstly, paying children at a very young age can be inappropriate as this can eventually encourage them to start leading an independent life allowing them to take their own decisions very early in life. This can also lead them to discontinue their studies. For instance, my brother always worked during his summer break for small scale companies that ultimately led to disinterest in academics and at the age of,18 he dropped out of college and began work. Although he gained experience in his early adult life, it later became difficult to cope up with real working-class life. However, some people think paid jobs for children can fetch experience and improve their learning ability. Although this holds good as the short term benefit, there are big chances for a child being misled in the wrong direction because the money being available at all times. Going through internship programs in school or college life, working for charity programs can also allow one to gain knowledge and understanding about the society in which they live. To sum up, albeit people think paid jobs can teach better values for children, education is the key factor in success. In my opinion, children should be discouraged from the idea of paid jobs and should be encouraged more on education, charity programs and so on which eventually can lead to gaining valuable knowledge and experience.