Some parents buy their children who they ask for, and allow their children to do whatever they want. Is this a good way to raise children? What consequences could this style of parenting have on children as they get older?

It is often thought that some parents give their young ones the leverage to possess all they desire as well as behave in a manner that best suits them. In my opinion, this is not a desirable style of parenting, and the influence that this poses on youngsters will be expounded in this discourse. Firstly, fulfilling all demands of pre-adolescents is not an acceptable way of parenting as this would pose a trait on the child's personality while growing up. In other words, this over-indulgence of children makes them self-reliant on their parents for everything, and as such, they tend to be spoilt. For instance, according to a documentary from a parenting journal, a great number of such children grow up to still be overly dependent on their mothers and fathers thereby making little investment in their name. Secondly, these children often do unimaginable things just to get hold of their numerous desires such as throwing tantrums and even being involved in illegal acts. Therefore, it is quite glaring that people who are lenient to their wards end up making them vulnerable. Furthermore, there are several detrimental impacts of this behaviour on children even as they transcend into adulthood. Primarily, such young adults grow to have less value for money. To elucidate further, these adolescents find adjusting to reality arduous as they are accustomed to reckless spending. Also, they lack self-control over their yearnings. Regardless of what it will cost such individuals, they risk it to satisfy their gratifications. For example, research was conducted on two groups of people, the spoilt ones in affluence and the destitute. It was evident that the wealthy ones spent recklessly. Hence, the dire consequences of this act on children are huge. In conclusion, although permissive parenting is preferred by parents who want to please their children at all times, I believe this is not the right parenting method, as this affects the child's upbringing and they also misbehave. Therefore, permissive parenting must be discouraged because it leads to maladjustment and poor self-control.