In many countries, people do not recycle waste materials, such as bottles and newspapers. What are the reasons for this? What could be done to solve this problem?

Nowadays, waste materials like bottles and newspapers are not being recycled by people in many countries. There are several reasons why this happens, and also the solutions that can be done to tackle this issue. First, this mostly happens because of apathy towards environmental issues; many individuals seem to lack of awareness the environmental impact of the recycling process. This could be the case since formal institutions are not teaching students about sustainability. Even though they might get the lesson from the teachers, it mostly came only theoretical rather than practical. Second, there is inadequateness in recycling infrastructure in many countries. While the campaign and movement have been done by the environmental organizations, the accessibility towards recycling system still needs room for improvement. Moreover, those are not well-distributed in every city, like in Indonesia, where the recycling systems are working properly only in metropolitan cities. In order to solve the problems, educational initiatives, which lean towards sustainability and green investments, are needed in the curriculum. The implementation of this campaign is to raise awareness so more individuals can be stimulated to participate in recycling programs. In Indonesia, for example, many environmental organizations have a collaboration project with schools and do weekend activities together, such as coastal cleaning. Not only that, but the infrastructures also need improvements by the government and local communities. Both parties could invest in more accessible and user-friendly recycling facilities. If the systems are built properly, it would encourage more participants to start recycling. In conclusion, most people do not recycle waste materials because of the lack of awareness towards this issue and also the minimum recycling infrastructure in many places, hence initiation in education and infrastructure improvements are needed to solve this.