There seems to be increasing number of serious crimes committed each year. While some think the best way is to use the death penalty as a deterrent many people believe that the other measures will be needed. Discuss both sides and give your opinion

In recent times, it has been observed that the crime rate in the world has increased alarmingly. Pertaining to this, certain advocates believe that criminals should be hung to death, while some other critics oppose it, as they think that there are other forms of punishments that can be considered for some crimes. In this essay, I will discuss both these views and present my personal opinion. On the one hand, few people think that the death penalty can be the best method for justice. This is because they think that if offenders are getting such punishment, then people will be scared to do any kind of criminal activity in the future; as a result, the crime rate may eventually fall over a period of time. For example, In Saudi Arabia, lawbreakers are being killed, hence, the rate of crime is very low there and people do not dare to indulge in any kind of offensive activity because of the strict law. Moreover, if such criminals get back into society after certain years of jail, they might again perform the same crime. Therefore, some pupils opine that offenders should be killed to save society. On the other hand, the detractors do not agree with the aforementioned standpoint, because they think that not all crimes deserve the death penalty. For instance, due to unemployment, African states face a lot of robbery cases as people living there do not have other options to survive without money. Such criminals may not deserve to be hanging till death but they can be punished in other ways by making them do the community work or indulging them in physical work so that they change their behaviour. Furthermore, society can also get benefited due to such social work. Thus, few people state that other ways of punishing a criminal are better. In conclusion, it is inevitable that the crime rate is rising in all parts of the world which needs to be controlled. Some folks may say that the death penalty is the right way to follow and opponents may state that the judicial body should consider other ways of punishment. In my opinion, lawmakers should be liberal and should not announce extreme decisions like the death penalty.