Some people believe that school children should not be given homework by their teachers, whereas others argue that homework plays an important role in the education of children. Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

A very controversial issue today relates to the matter of teachers giving home assignment to students and the role it plays in their education. In this essay, I am going to examine the question from both point of view, though I am of the opinion that assignment given to students by tutors goes a long way to better their educational outcome. On the one hand, administration of homework to pupils play a very important role in educating children because it enables them practice, engage their minds and gain a better understanding of the topic taught in class, as such they are unlikely to forget such lessons. For example, my son who immediately carries out all his off-school work once he returns from his institute, gains a better understanding of the subject, consequently he has maintained the first position through out his academic year gaining a strong educational background. Furthermore, metting out academic exercise to be done at home improves the child's problem solving skills, such that they are able to tackle any issue in other subject area with a resultant improved academic performance. In contrast, some parents believe that children should not carry out home exercise as this consumes the time necessary for other social activities such as football and chess. In their view, school work should not encroach on the time for games. For instance, my husband's friend takes his son out every afternoon to play basketball at a time that coincides with that of his off- school task, as a result he fails to practicalize his work and this eventually affects his academic outcome. In summary, having the pro's and con's of each view, I believe it's best for students to be given tasks by their lecturers as it improves their skill and enables them to have a strong educational background.