Shopping is now one of the most popular forms of leisure activity in many countries for young adults. Why is this? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

There is an increasing trend of shopping during free time in many nations, especially among the youngsters. Many reasons could surface for this increased popularity. Although it might have a few benefits, it mainly has a negative influence on the minds of the adolescents. Both the questions will be answered in the ensuing write-up. There are a number of reasons for shopping gaining increased popularity as a recreational activity. The foremost reason is an improvement of technology. It is seen that today, shopping has become easier and more convenient due to the indroduction of online shopping websites. The public can purchase goods whilst sitting at home with just a click of a button. Thus, this can be easily done during their free time. Websites and apps like Myntra and Amazon are popular forms to shop for clothes and other goods in India. Apart from this, launching of new and improved products every day along with its catchy advertisements compels people to shop and keep them up to date. Despite having benefits like improvement of the economy, it is without a doubt a negative development. This is because constant purchases during leisure time result in impulse buying. People tend to buy products that are usually not needed but just a liability. This results in unnecessary wastage of hard-earned money. Furthermore, since the youngsters are easily influenced, they might pressurise parents to fulfil their demands and may even end up stealing. For instance, once I bought a trendy expensive bag which I later realised was not much of in use. In a nutshell, it can be said that due to various improvements and advancements shopping in leisure time has gained momentum. However, it has many disadvantages.