Despite huge improvements in healthcare, the overall standard of physical health in many developed countries is now falling. What are the reasons for this and how can the problem be tackled?

Technology has been a blessing to mankind. Post-emergence of technology the health sector, like many other sectors, has seen huge improvements in terms of types of equipment and medicines. Despite such, many countries, even the developed ones, facing deterioration in terms of general public health. This essay will discuss the factors responsible for it and outline some of the potential measures that can be taken to solve the problem. There are mainly two key factors directly related to ones’ lifestyle which cause a breakdown in the overall health of the general public. The primary one is unhealthy eating. There are various types of food items available in the market which are tasty but not nutritious at all. The younger generation, for example, is always inclined towards such unhealthy intake, which causes severe digestive issues, high blood pressure and low immunity in future. Another reason is the sedentary lifestyle of the majority of the population. Most of the works, nowadays, are technology-based and can be done through a computer. As a result of which, almost 70% of the employees are compelled to sit in front of their Laptop or PCs to meet their goal or satisfy their higher authorities. Indeed, such a sedentary way of living results in obesity and cardiovascular diseases in long term. To curb the aforementioned issues several measures can be taken by the government. Primarily to handle the issue of mass-consumption of fast food, governments can levy higher tax rates of these particular products to escalate the price. This certainly, can deter many from buying junk food to control the heavy intake of the same. In Canada, for example, most of the city-dwellers discarded buying big Macs when the government imposed taxes on junk food in 2015. Adding to this, governments can also encourage their citizens to exercise regularly by providing them with some sorts of rewards. In a city in the Netherlands, for instance, the government has initiated a rule that when a person does 10 push-ups before entering the subway, he/she will be allowed to avail of the ticket free of cost. In conclusion, only the improvements in the infrastructure of the health sectors can not contribute to the well being of the common people, unless individuals are also concerned about the same. In order to achieve the betterment in the overall health of the public, not only the people need to be aware of the fact that health is wealth and they should act accordingly, but in my opinion, a little encouragement from the government’s side will also have a definite impact.