Despite huge improvements in healthcare, the overall standard of physical health in many developed countries is now falling. What are the reasons for this and how can the problem be tackled?

Health is an important aspect for any individual across the globe, which is very well proved in this recent pandemic. Irrespective of developments taking place in the healthcare industry, the overall standard of physical health is deteriorating in many of the developed countries. In this essay, I will list out two important causes for these physical health issues and the possible solutions to handle them. The primary reasons identified behind this phenomenon are the quality of meals and the lack of physical and mental exercise by the public. To be more precise, the condition of food intake is deteriorating day by day due to the heavy consumption of junk food. The city of Oklahoma has recorded the highest obesity patients, for instance, during the fiscal years 2018 and 2019 because of the degraded cooking quality served by the street vendors. Adding to this, due to the fast-paced lifestyle of the city population, focus on physical and mental exercise has vanished. The ratio of the calories accumulated versus burnt, for example, has increased across the globe as per the WHO statistics released during this pandemic, which is a clear sign of the lack of bodybuilding activities. They say prevention is a better solution to tackle these problems than curing it after the occurrence of the problem. The government has to pass strict policies, for example, to stop the marketing of junk food by the respective manufacturers to reduce its consumption. The Mc Donalds advertisement on pizza and burger sales, for instance, should be banned by the government as it is the most likely to influence children to taste them during their outings. Apart from this, social awareness campaign on physical and mental well beings is the second important criterion to eradicate these issues from the roots. Indian prime minister, for instance, takes initiative in pushing the entire nation to do yoga every morning to safeguard health from viruses. To conclude, irrespective of enhanced developments in the medical industry, the majority of people are suffering from diseases. While, there are substantial causes behind these situations like degraded cooking quality and lack of workout, possible solutions to suppress them are also available and are being slowly implemented by the governments as discussed in the above paragraph for social well being.