Nowadays we are producing more and more rubbish. Why do you think this is happening? What can governments do to help reduce the amount of rubbish produced?

Growing population worldwide has is own merits and demerits, which has resulted in a problem of fulfilling need for production as well as disposal of the daily need items. This essay will not only examine the causes of increased rubbish but also suggest the ways in which government can play a key role to curb the amount of waste produced. There are two major factors behind rise of garbage. Firstly, the raising needs of everyday items required for survival, leading to higher scrap produced. For instance, consider a usage of a milk product, after it is consumed, its wrapper straighaway straight away goes into the bin. Imagine the number of plastic wrappers thrown by every individual. Perhaps, in billions everyday! The second factor linked to the first, is modern use-&-throw culture. Most of the products, nowadays, are preferably sold in a temporary packaging, like milks in tetrapacks or plastic covers, considering more comfort for the consumers. Consequently, this use once & throw culture adds up to the things collected in rubbish worldwide. To tackle this issue, In addition to each every citizen, Governments have a key role to play. The first and foremost action the management need to take is to regulate the usage of materials in which the goods are wrapped. Take India as an example, Indian Government has imposed the increase in the thickness of the polythene bags to 125microns, in favour of the fact that it could be easily recycled and re-used for the same purpose in accordance with researches conducted over the same. Additionally, The Administration can also run public initiatives for the people, by the people, to make them aware of the problems of increasing garbage globally. Just like, "Clean India campaign" started by Indian prime minister. In conclusion, unless the efforts are made to shift public conciosness, this problem will only escalate. While the authorities have critical role to play, sense of awareness and the responsibility at individual level is a critical part to avoid the surging amount of the debris all over.