Nowadays we are producing more and more rubbish. Why do you think this is happening? What can governments do to help reduce the amount of rubbish produced?

Before civilization, the amount of waste produced per capita was limited. That being said, as we are becoming technologically advanced, it has increased tremendously, causing environmental hazards. This essay will analyze the causes of this problem and suggest ways that governments can curb the quantity of rubbish produced. Two main factors are contributing to the rise in garbage. Firstly, the production cost of some materials, such as plastic, is falling day by day, and therefore making it cheaper and easily available for one's use. A thin plastic bag, for an instance, costs $0.5, whereas same sized cotton bag may cost $5, so why would someone make an effort to recycle such a low-priced thing? Thus, knowingly or unknowingly, individuals are contributing to generate more wastes. Secondly, the reason for this surged waste production lies within the modern throw-away culture in which all products are treated as disposable. Since it is not uncommon to find valuable household items thrown in the bin, it is true that people have become habitual to it and moreover, this behaviour is linked to their prestige in society. To tackle this issue, governments should consider altering the public's mindset. Applying high taxes on recyclables could be one of the solutions, which would result in people using such products more consciously. Each family, suppose, could reduce the litter by 1 kg, there will be a significant impact on overall rubbish produced per day. On top of that, strict rules about waste production from every house may also help. For example, if government stops accepting daily litter from a house beyond a certain limit, people then left with no other choice rather than to cut their wastes down. Ultimately, those are the masses, who should take it upon themselves to resolve this problem. To recapitulate, while individuals are responsible for producing more and more waste these days, governments have a role to play in regulating it. We all should understand the severity of the problem and take the steps before it becomes uncontrollable. It can be better achieved with the efforts of both, humans and the ruling bodies.