Some people feel that children should be able to choose the subjects they are interested in while others feel they should study the basic require subjects. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is often controversial whether children should study the subjects of their interests as some people believe that learning the basic subjects is significant for the improvement of their academic performances. I support the latter view, for the basic understanding of the broad fields makes it more achievable for students to solve complex problems in the future regardless of the fact that studying an area of individual taste raises more motivation for learning. On one hand, students should gain a fundamental understanding of various things in the world, which encourages them to analyze issues from different perspectives. In other words, the extensive knowledge and skills from math to science allow them to apply one theory to another to gain more convincing and practical solutions. For instance, through the fundamental lessons of psychology, I was able to teach students English more effectively as I came to recognize the crucial relationship between their feelings and academic outcomes. As I started to collaborate my teaching method with more interactive activities such as discussions and role-plays where they were demanded to exchange their views with others, their positive attitudes in the class increased dramatically, making them look more satisfied. Thus, learning a basic subject like this allowed me to notice the essential factors that I might have overlooked. On the other hand, students should focus on their special areas for higher progress in their intelligence and techniques. Indeed, their general curiosities toward a certain subject are more likely to make them professional as more commitments would be made throughout their academic years. For example, one of my friends who liked to study chemistry has become a successful researcher as he made an incredible contribution to his experiments, from which he enjoyed observing hundreds of mechanisms of viruses, producing a revolutionary vaccine to cure patients. Furthermore, his continuous efforts, patience and above all, his natural interests have made it possible for him to make such an outstanding discovery in life. Therefore, schools should respect the individual choice of students to advance their skills and talents so they can maximize their own potential. In conclusion, I believe that students should learn basic subjects to expand their sophistication and comprehensive skills to solve complicated issues in the world as one subject often relates to another. However, schools should also be flexible in providing courses that match the taste and interest of each student so he or she can make an impressive finding.