Some people believe if a police force carries guns, it will encourage the level of violence in the society. To what extent you agree or disagree?

The key role of the police is to curb crime and reduce instances of violence. It is believed that the police equipped with weapons is likely to contribute to more violence. However, I disagree with this opinion as I think this phenomenon will alleviate violence in our society. Firstly, it will reduce lawlessness. Some people commit crimes because they think police do not have threats to them. For example, if police can carry guns, those who are on the edge of crimes or violence will consider the consequence and know such misbehaviours like bullying and robbery are definitely not be allowed. More importantly, they will realize it is difficult for them to commit crimes, which could have a deterrent effect on using violence and commit crimes, improving the safety of our society. Therefore, this could alleviate violent cases and maintain stability. Another benefit is that it is useful for the force to arrest someone who poses a series of dangers to the public. It is common to see that lots of offenders who haven’t been put into prison are one of the causes of our society’s disorder. For instance, If the guards could use guns when they are arresting those offenders, they can shoot those who are escaping, which will ensure the success of catching culprits, let them be punished. As a result, the number of people who intends to use violence will get arrested and be put behind the bars, contributing to a safe world. In conclusion, the police using weapons could curb violence because it could deter people from violating the law and reduce criminals escaping from the arrest.