Nowadays parent put too much pressure on thier cgildern to succeed. What is the reason for doing this? Is this a positive or negative development?

Children of today are not competing with the child next door, but with the child of the global village;the world. In this contemporary era, parents want their child to excel in everything. Consequently, they end up pressurising their kids to win the rat race. Unfortunately, this affect the development of young people in a negative trajectory. This essay intends to analyse the reasons behind it as well as its impact. Firstly, parents of today strongly believe that doing very well in academics will help their kids to succeed in the future, in spite of knowing the fact that there are hundreds of opportunities available for the current generation even though they don't do well in academics. On top of that, elders of the modern world evaluate success in terms of money earned by a person. For instance, people will address a millionaire as a successful person on the basis of wealth whereas nobody cares how stressed or unhappy he is in life. Secondly, nowadays, the family has more competitive spirit than the student who is studying. For example, the neighbours have a tendency to compare youngsters of their home with the one who lives opposite and compel  their kids to score better than the other. In this rat race, they would not give the freedom to the young people to choose what they desire for and such restrictions make them rebel. To conclude, I reiterate that being too strict with the younger ones will have a colossal impact on their progress in negative way. However, the onus is on the guardians to encourage their youngsters to succeed in such a way that towards the end they will be happy successful people.