Some parents buy a lot of toys for their children. What are the advantages and disadvantages of children having a lot of toys?

Some children are given a number of toys by their parents. This is said to lead to those youngsters not only becoming independent of their parents fast but also avoiding being bullied, while this can cause great financial burden on their parents and hamper the development of their imagination. Looking first at the advantages of providing children with a lot of toys, this accelerates their independence. This is because their faith in their parents grows fast, making them feel that whenever they are in trouble, their parents will help them. As a result, they try to do anything on their own. Another merit is that the more toys youngsters own, the less likely they are to be bullied. I read in the newspaper that young people have the predisposition to be attracted to those having what they don’t, and that giving children a number of toys can prevent them from becoming the target of bullying. Turning to the disadvantages, more toys can mean heavier financial burden on parents. The following incident was reported in Japan; a father run out of money, but his son pestered him to buy a video game he hoped for, which resulted in the father robbing an old lady of her purse and being arrested for the crime. Besides, giving a lot of toys prevents children from being imaginative. If they have few toys, they will try to do anything to enjoy themselves with the limited number of toys. However, surrounded by a number of toys, youngsters will be deprived of the chance. To conclude, being purchased a lot of toys enables youngsters to cultivate their self-dependence and to avoid being bullied, but at the same time, it can be a great cause of monetary burden on parents and the dearth of children ’s imagination.