News stories on TV and in newspapers are very often accompanied by pictures. Some people say that these pictures are more effective than words. What is your opinion about this?

A picture can mean a thousand words; does it really? News articles are usually presented alongside captivating photos. A number of people have stated that these images are more effective than mere words. While this may have some level of truth to it, I believe that pictures can be misinterpreted. This essay aims to delve more into my line of reasoning. Although attaching a beautiful photograph can attract a reader's attention to a piece of information, it can also be the reason why the main point is missed. The type of pictures that are used for news delivery can sometimes take away from the actual story. In the murder case of Ben Simmons, for instance, the picture used was that of a very pretty mountaintop in Italy. What is the relationship between a murder case and beautiful scenery? With the poor reading culture in the world now, what is being said is just as important as the photo used. This is to prevent gross misinformation and misinterpretation. On the flip side, I understand the power of a good photograph. If a captivating image is used, it can draw the consumer's attention to the newspaper or television broadcast. Analysis carried out by the Washington Post showed that articles that had relevant imaging attached to them had more views. When trying to advertise dog food, for instance, if a Chihuahua is used, dog lovers who regard it as a cute breed will most likely pay more attention to it. Using pictures can be a good way to attract a viewer/reader. To conclude, an image is a good way to entice people. While some folks are of the opinion that is more relevant, I strongly believe words are more important in order to avoid being misinterpreted.