Some people believe that sport has an important role in society. Others, however, feel that it is nothing but a leisure activity for some people. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Currently, with our fast-paced lives, exercises are being put aside in order to keep our daily routine. Nevertheless, a part of our society claims that sports are crucial for our development, whereas, others argue that it is just a hobby. I tend to agree that the human body need to be active in order to be useful and that a healthier society thrives. On the one hand, an obvious argument in favor of sports is that physical activities are linked with good health. This is because, healthy individuals are more productive and do not waste public or personal money in hospitals. Therefore, the government can use tax income in other areas such as education or science and technology. Furthermore, if the country does not have a public health system, the person can use their money in local business. Thus, sports seems to be vital for a developed society. On the other hand, sports can be nothing more than entertainment in our free time. For example, some people spend most of their time working hard and do not have enough stamina to exercise, therefore, watching sports seems more appropriate. In addition to that, in some countries, watching sports like soccer is a tradition and how the society spend their free time with family and friends. That is why for some it can be considered a leisure activity and nothing else. As far as I am concerned, watch sports on TV can alleviate some stress and be an important social event. However, as human beings we need to be healthy in order to go further in life and achieve more. From my point of view, a healthy society is able to do more in all areas and be useful for their nation. In conclusion, I believe sports are crucial for a developed country. Because, individuals are healthier and more productive. Moreover, money can be used in other places than wasted with medicines and hospitals.