Some people think that physical strength is important for success in sport, while other people think that mental strength is more important. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

A controversy exists between the role that physical ability or intelligence contributes to a successful sporting career. This essay will discuss both viewpoints. However, I am of the opinion that mental strength is germane to achieving success in an athletic event On the one hand, intelligence enables a sportsman to plan properly and put into practice the techniques required on the field. He is more knowledgeable, as such, achieves a better outcome. For example, my sister who studied sports science in the university plays volleyball and she is far better at the game than her counterpart who has no background knowledge. Hence, she was picked to represent her team in a champions league final where she won the game and return with a gold medal. Furthermore, mental strength enables proper use of the body muscles and parts, thus, avoiding injuries on the field. In contrast, muscle mass may enable some athletes to achieve success in a few areas where heavy lifting or large bodyweight is required. In spite of this, they can only achieve a little breakthrough with no mental capacity. For instance, my cousin who wrestles occasionally wins the game because of his large fist which is able to knock down his opponent. Though a few battles have been won, he remains stagnant in his career as he lacks the technical know-how to utilise wisdom in areas outside wrestling. Consequently, he is limited to a particular field and not able to reach the peak. In summary, wisdom and energy have different roles they play in the successful outcome of a sporting event. I am of the opinion that intelligence is very key to taking a game career to its peak.