The only way to improve road safety is to give much stricter punishments on driving offenses. To what extent do you agree or not?

Nowadays, road accidents are one of the most controversial issues. Most people think that stringent penalties can mitigate driving crimes on road. However, I strongly disagree with this statement because this is the sole solution to improve lane safety because there are a variety of alternative measures that could also be effective. Undoubtedly, stricter punishments can improve lane safety but there is a diversity of types of driving punishments such as hefty fines, confiscation of licenses or even put in sentences for many years. For example, in many countries, drunk drivers even could charge more than one thousand dollars when they caused severe accidents. Moreover, some offenders put on sentence for long years when they refused to pay fines because they endanger innocent lives. It is not only harsh penalities that can enhance roadway security; there are rational ways which government could take into account to cut off driving crimes. Firstly, installing speed cameras on each and every traffic light consequently, the driver can check their speed limit when they driving. Furthermore, education should be regarded potential solution. For example, in Vietnam, police will visit the high school students and takes a class on lane rules and regulations. To be more precise, the government should strictly adhere to the rules during on license practical exam. To conclude, certainly, not only strict punishments cannot improve roadway security but also the many alternatives ways could be diminished the ratio of driving offences. However, I strongly disagree with this statement in the above-mentioned details. I hope this alternative measure can improve roadway security in the future days.