Some people think that social networking sites have a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Even though social networking sites like WeChat and Facebook have brought benefits to many of us, we cannot deny that they also create plenty of drawbacks for individuals and society. In my point of view, I agree with the above statement since these sites not merely make people addicted, but also create bullying behaviours online. Firstly, since people nowadays spend a massive amount of time checking these websites, they are prone to get addicted to these online sites. Noticing that the addictions towards those sites will exert a negative influence on people, and distracts them from reality. For example, many of us have the experience of spending hours of time checking the message that our friend sent us or watching videos on Tik Toks or surfing the internet. At first, we immersed ourselves in those apps, however, after a few weeks, we felt deeply depressed because we had hardly lost all the connections with our friends in the real world. Consequently, we become isolated from our communities. Therefore, it is true that social apps have exerted severe implications on human beings because their users tend to spend a massive amount of time on them. Secondly, these online platforms are able to pose a threat to the public in many aspects. For instance, take the example of rumours. Since the accounts on most of these platforms can be registered without the true identities, rumours that have severe implications on public credits can be created. Additionally, it is very hard for the security sector to identify who is stirring up trouble online, Furthermore, based on the fact that fake accounts can be created, people can anonymously send aggressive or unpleasant emails to others with ease. As a result, the victims will experience miserable times. In addition, these social apps rarely ask for users’ real names for the sake of self-interest. Therefore, through fake accounts, social sites might have a negative impact on society. To conclude, I agree with the topic that social networks can negatively affect individuals, along with the entire society due to the aforementioned reasons.