In some countries, more and more people are becoming interested in finding out about the history of the house or building they live in. What are the reasons for this? How can people research this?

Nowadays, society in certain nations is growing interest in exploring the past story of the places they inhabit. Personally, I believe that the inhabitants who are concerned about the comfort of living in their places will be intrigued to learn their living places' history. Moreover, this process can be done by uncovering interesting stories and hidden details of the area. First of all, one of the most common reasons to find out the backstory of a place is backed by the urge to connect with their living spaces in order to live comfortably. For instance, there is a specific neighbourhood in South Tangerang in which the houses' walls are often soaked by water every rainy season. After the house owners established a further investigation, it was revealed that the whole cluster was built above an area that used to be a swamp. In this case, people found answers to their setbacks by learning about the historical aspects of their habitats. In addition, the research process of discovering the history of the buildings can be achieved by finding out about captivating trivia and unseen parts of the place. Using the same setting as the previous example, people in that area who struggled with leaked walls when the rain poured unveiled the truth by noticing that the GPS pointed to a watery area when they input their addresses. This group then asked experts in geography about the origin of their land and confirmed the facts to local governments. To sum up, the rationale for the people who become interested in exploring the history of their home is the curiosity to learn about the past in order to answer today's problems within the houses. Additionally, people can research this by looking at the small and rather implicit details of the neighbourhood.