Modern technology has made it easier for individuals to download copyrighted music and books from the internet for no charge. To what extent is this a positive or a negative development?

In the era of the Internet and modern technology, copyrights have evolved as a topic of concern, as copyrighted music and books can now be downloaded free of charge. From my perspective, I believe that this may lead to devastating consequences, which far outweigh its benefits. As a matter of fact, having the right to listen to songs or read books without being required to make a purchase does bring about certain advantages. With a few simple mouse-clicks, individuals,especially those with low financial budgets, may have easy access to a wide range of information from books,as well as a great source of copyrighted songs. For instance,since teenagers are unlikely to possess a lot of money, if they are provided with free access to books and music, they may being facilitated to enrich their knowledge and acquire the ability to perceive music better. However, in my opinion, compared with the negative impacts, the positive impacts pale in significance. As the copyrighted contents are freely distributed, the career of many creators such as songwriters, music artists and authors might be put in penicuary disadvantages. Because they receive a significantly low turnover, it may be an arduous challenge for them to meet their personal demands, therefore, the higher chance they might stop producing more products in the not distant future. Additionally, since there is a free approach to copyrighted goods, many evildoers tend to take advantage of those intellectual property to make money or turn them into their own products. As a result,producers are being disregarded and that tendency is in contrast to moral principles. Thus,users had better pay for copyrighted books and music. To conclude, although free charge of books and songs is beneficial, in my viewpoint, it is more disadvantageous when taking the copyrights issue into consideration.