In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people traveling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

In the future, all transport is expected to be autonomous driven and the need for drivers will not exist anymore. I believe that despite the apparent benefit of this possibility such as reducing the number of car accidents and people injures and deaths associated with them, there are indisputable disadvantages relating to a significant impact on the level of the economic welfare of some categories of workers as it may increase an unemployment rate among them. On the one hand, the major benefit associated with self-driving cars is an opportunity to decrease vehicles crashes and, s a result, a declining number of people’s deaths. The reason is that autonomous vehicles are considered to be more precise in driving without human errors like being too tired to drive in the nighttime and make an accident or make irrational actions due to uncontrolled emotions. As a result, self-driving cars may bring the great benefit of the opportunity to make roads much safer. Nevertheless, on no account should the security issues of autonomous automobiles be ignored, as a large number of these cars on the road have to be coordinated with each other and, as a consequence, would be associated in the same network, which may be compromised by a hacking attack. On the other hand, a major problem of self-driving transport is closely tied not only to changing the way of working way of such businesses like fast food delivery and taxi service, but also it may affect those who depend on driving to make a living only by this way, like truckers and bus drivers. This is because drivers’ career is bound to be obsolete with introducing autonomous automobiles. As a consequence, it is likely to contribute to the increasing unemployment rate and to the diminishing income level of the above categories of workers, which in turn will have an impact on people's well-being. To illustrate, according to the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, in 2019 more than 2.9 million people were employed as drivers, and a potential loss of these working places may cause a significant problem in the US labour market. In conclusion, I am strongly convinced that serious shortcomings of driverless vehicles outweigh those potential benefits, which this approach is likely to provide. This is because, despite the fact of much safety on the road providing by self-driving cars, the consequences of widespread implementation of them such as mass job displacement in the sphere of driving and high level of vulnerability to the threat of hackers should not be underestimated.