More and more people want to buy clothes, cars and other products from well-known brands. What are the reasons? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In current times, purchasing cars, clothes and other products from famous brands, are becoming popular among a large number of people. I partly agree with this idea and its pros and cons in equal measure will be outlined below. On the one hand, the tendency of consuming well-known brand goods depends on personal possessions reflecting wealth, social status and appearance. Many people taking part in some formal meetings feel more self-confident if they wear clothes and accessories from large brands. More specifically, products from famous brands are prioritized because of high quality and fashionable designs that are suitable for enhancing people’s appearance. That is the reason why sneakers from Nike or handbags from Chanel are always on top of the most favourite items. In addition, some types of goods like cars from luxurious brands are usually sold at exorbitant prices because of their expensive materials or unique features. Therefore, these products are considered as a tool for the rich to show off their wealth or social status. On the other hand, buying goods from a well-known brands can bring both merits and drawbacks to the business world. Countries, where popular brands are based, brands are based have a strong and healthy economy. For instance, the US, the home country of Apple and Microsoft, has been the strongest economic superpower since the products of well-known brands are favoured not only in domestic but also in the foreign markets. In sharp contrast, most developing countries find it hard to improve their local brand names because of the stable positions of large brands. Hence, that leads to instability of the economic scale. In conclusion, purchasing famous brand products or not is a personal choice. People use large brand items for their taste or to show off their wealth and social status. This trend could bring both positive and negative consequences to the business market