Some people believe that young people should be required to do unpaid work in their free time to help the community. They believe this would benefit both the young people and society as a whole. Do you agree or disagree?

There is an ongoing debate about whether youngsters should be mandated to participate in voluntary work or not. While some individuals think that it should be made compulsory for teenagers during their spare time because it will be beneficial to them and the general populace, others disagree.I do not support mandating young people to participate in unpaid jobs because it makes them lose concentration and discipline. It also leads to resentments and the subsequent paragraphs of this essay will explain my reasons. One of the main reasons I think that young people should not be required to do community service is because they will not concentrate on skills acquisition. When teenagers are forced to do unpaid work they take it as a burden and they derive no joy in it. This will cause their mind not to be opened to gain the practical experience that would be needed in their future careers. Therefore the aim of exposing them to this form of jobs becomes forfeited. For example, a survey carried out among workers in a voluntary organization showed that staff who joined the workforce because they were mandated, didn’t acquire much knowledge when compared to those who joined voluntarily. Furthermore, participating in a charity job is meant to be voluntary and when youngsters are mandated to do it, it creates resentment towards this form of service and the goal of the organization is unmet. For instance, research has shown that societies that make unpaid work compulsory for their citizens end up making people feel resentful towards charity service. Additionally, when teenagers are forced to participate in community service they usually lack a sense of discipline and dedication. They tend to either go late to work or take days off without any prior notice because they are not interested in the job.Employers and other staffs also suffer from their nonchalant attitude because it disrupts their plans and activities. In conclusion, some believe that young adults should be required to partake in community service in their free time because it enables them to assist the nation and also acquire knowledge from it. I disagree with this point of view because when it is made compulsory young people often lack a sense of interest which makes it difficult for them to concentrate on learning skills, they also do not possess a sense of commitment and discipline to their jobs and they later develop resentment towards this type of jobs. Therefore, the purpose of this requirement which aims at benefiting youngsters and the community is usually not achieved.