Internet social media have become very popular. To what extent do you think this is a good or bad thing? Why do you think this is the case? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Over the past few years, using the internet to socialize has been on the rise. While some may argue that this is dangerous, I on the other hand, completely agree that it is a welcome development. This essay will further explain why I believe it is good. The popularity of the online community in recent times cannot be argued. With more people joining these social forums, it is pleasant to see how lives have been impacted positively. For instance, LinkedIn alone has created over a million jobs in just 5 years of being in existence. The rate of unemployment has significantly decreased because people can now use the internet to find jobs. Secondly, the use of social media is becoming well known, even among older unlearned folks. This has made information dissemination not just easier, but also faster. For example, last year, my cousin went missing and we were all confused. All I did was post her picture on Twitter, people who had information reached out to the family and she was found in less than two weeks. The usage of social media to spread and get news is undefeated. However, while we cannot ignore the importance of the online community, its popularity is of concern to some folk.One of such concerns is its high-security risk. They believe it is used as a tool to incite violence and crime amongst the young population. For example, China limits and censors the adoption of certain apps because of the aforementioned reasons. In conclusion, regardless of the minimal harm the use of the internet might cause, I vehemently agree that it is a positive development as it helps spread news faster and depletes unemployment rates.