The internet has changed the way we interact with each other now compared to in the past. What at the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Since the internet has been introduced it has changed the way we communicate with each other quite a lot. Some believe the internet has only brought about positive developments as we can communicate instantly with each other, while others believe it has negative effects on society. In this essay, I am going to discuss what I believe are the advantages and disadvantages of how we communicate with each other now in comparison to the past by using the internet. Communicating with each other has never been so convenient as it is today, thanks to the invention of the internet. Loved ones are able to communicate with each other abroad instantly at any time and in any place. In the,past we had to use landlines and it cost quite a bit of money, where now it is very cost-effective using the internet. Also, in the,past we had to wait for weeks to receive a letter from our family and friends, where no one can send an email and even attach images such as photos with your email. Communication has never been so user friendly, efficient and fast as it is today. Despite the advantages of the internet, it has also brought along some disadvantages. One negative aspect is the fact that a lot of people will spend a lot of time looking at their phone in a restaurant or social event catching up on social media, their emails or texting while some of their friends or family members are physically next to them. In the long,run this will cause a barrier in their relationships with their loved one's who are physically around them. Another, negative aspect is that a lot of people now send text messages instead of phoning one another and sometimes the text message is full of emoticons, shortening the message even more. This also brings down the quality of your relationship with your loved ones. In conclusion, although the internet has a lot of advantages especially when it comes to instant communication it also has its negative aspects such as being disconnected from your friends and families. It is therefore important not to lose the quality and importance of physical interaction with one another.