Governments should spend more money on education than on recreation and sports. Do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that countries should allocate more funds to education than to leisure and competitive games. It is agreed that the national budgets should prioritize schools and universities over sports and play. First, I will discuss the economic benefits that information can bring to a nation. Secondly, the social gains it has. Investing in its study system is one of the best ways to improve a country’s economy. The more people entering the third -level study, the more skilled a workforce will be, this leads to higher innovation and productivity. For example, South Korea and Finland took a decision to invest a large proportion of their budget in schooling and colleges, this has reaped prosperity in the form of high-tech companies such as Samsung and Nokia. However, People cannot work hard all the time and these companies do provide leisure facilities for their workers. Education is not just about improving the economy, it also has many social profits. Well educated people tend to be more aware of social evils such as drugs, alcohol and sexual health. For example, Singapore educates all of its citizens on the dangers of drugs and this has resulted in one of the lowest levels of drug abuse in the world. Despite this, sports can also teach children valuable soft skills such as teamwork and work ethic which also help curb social ills. In conclusion, education should take precedence over sports and play when it comes to funding due to the many socio-economic benefits it brings. It is recommended that governments continue to pump money into schools and universities in order to realise long-term goals.