Some people think that watching television does not make people smarter. Other people think that watching television can be informative. Which opinion do you agree with and why?

From the prehistoric era, television is playing an essential role in human life. few people think watching television is a waste of time while others believe, it is a source of conveying significant information. Indeed, television is a non-replaceable thing from human life because it does not only broadcast information but also keep us updated with current trends. There are many reasons why people think television does not make people smarter. Firstly, for getting information there are lots of other options available for people like newspaper, radio, podcast. These options are not only cheap in price but also give specific information and the user can read that news in which he is interested. Secondly, nowadays people carry smartphones, so they can watch personalised news as well as serials on smartphones. Along with this, watching television at a place also promote a sedentary lifestyle and make people lazier. for instance, a study found that people who spend six to seven hours watching TV suffered from obesity, diabetes kind of disease. Therefore, TV is not making people smarter but make them lazy. There are, however, some people including me who think TV is essential for broadcasting information. First and foremost, the Visual things are easy to understand and remember. When we get information visually we will remember it for a long time. For instance - A study published in Newyork Times found that things which we can see by eys remember for a long time rather than we read. In addition to this, get information from television is not time-consuming. you can get complete world's news and current trends in just an hour whereas people need to spend few hours read the same information from the newspaper. clearly, watching TV help us to up to date with current world affair with visuals. In conclusion, Although watching TV promote a sedentary lifestyle, its proliferate advantages gain much more attention than other media channels. I agree it is the best source for conveying information.