Some people believe that children at secondary school should be streamed, i.e., taught in classes according to ability, rather than being taught in mixed-ability classes. Do you think the advantages of streaming children at secondary school outweigh the disadvantages?

Streaming students according to their mental ability has become a popular trend among schools these days. Some have claimed that students should be taught based on their same mental ability, whereas others opposed this by saying that teach them in mixed classes would be a more effective method. In this essay, I would examine both merits and demerits of streaming children and discuss why I am in favour of not grouping them. To begin with, by streaming adolescents they would be get motivated as they have the same mental level. This is because if they are studying like this particular method, it would be easier for them to indulge with each other and in this way their problem-solving techniques would be ameliorated. In India, for instance, there are about 40% of schools in which they are grouping the scholar according to their capability to learn. There are, however, also have some detrimental effects on pupils who are streamed by their schools. Firstly, if they all are being a part of one class without any different mental capacity students, it would be tough for them as they can not be able to interact with them. To be precise more, it is going to create several hurdles in their future as they are not able to communicate since they were streamed. Hence, it would end up with missing skills that would not address the futuristic issues that would come up in near future. In conclusion, streaming children has become a common practice these days. Although differentiating their intellectual ability in secondary school would make their life easier in the short run, in my point of view, it is not that effective and comes up with several problems in future, so the minuses of streaming children outweigh the pluses.