In recent years, many local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centres or malls to do their shopping. Is it a positive or a negative development?

A trend has been observed in the contemporary era, related to the rise in the number of shopping malls in the urban areas to facilitate the buying experience of the citizens,, however this has attributed to the closure of small shops in local areas. This essay believes that this growth is the increasing number of showrooms is a negative development as it promotes inflation and joblessness. Price rise is apparent in a plethora of basic amenities, such as ready-made clothes and food. If a person wants to buy 10 kg flour from a shopping mall, it will cost him or her at least 15-20% extra as compared with the price by a local vendor. Fancy super-stores are affecting the shopping experience of buyers on one hand, and their pockets on the other hand. Thus, this marketing gimmick is adversely impacting the buying capacity of shoppers. More so, materialism is being promoted as people tend to buy some products unnecessarily just by getting aroused through some TV commercials. This not only encourages the individuals to purchase the items,not in use but also spoils the habits of young members of a family. Besides this, the problem of unemployment is also inclining as a result of giant mall culture. To further corroborate my opinion, when small shops are shut, these small-scale businesses lose their jobs. Considering all the above factors, materialism and unemployment are increasing due to shopping malls. In conclusion, rather than benefitting the citizens, this modern buying culture acts as a negative effect on the pockets of the masses, and also leads to joblessness in rural areas.