Many schoolchildren and students are taught to push themselves and try hard to be better than their classmates, rather than work together for everyone’s benefits. Do the disadvantages of training students to be competitive outweigh the advantages?

Some schools tend to teach their students that the spirit of competition is more useful than the ability to cooperate. While I understand the importance of being competitive sometimes, I believe that excessively encouraging this kind of sense would have more drawbacks than benefits. Obviously, competition can be a great source of motivation for children. When students need to be encouraged to work harder, using games or prizes to introduce an element of competitiveness into lessons may be a good way to motivate them. This kind of healthy rivalry may help push children to progress more quickly and build up their confidence. When these pupils leave school, their determination will help them in competitive situations such as job interviews. It can therefore be argued that competition should be encouraged in order to prepare children for adult life. However, it is perhaps even more important to prepare children for the many aspects of adult life that require the opposite of competition. In the workplace, adults are expected to work in teams, follow instructions given by their superiors, or supervise and support the more junior staff members. For example, when I was once assigned to a project that would benefit the whole company, I understood team collaboration skills were much more useful than a competitive determination to claim all credits since I would never be able to finish the project on my own. This is the attitude that I believe schools should foster in young people. Instead of promoting the idea that people are either losers or winners, teachers could show children that they gain more from working together. In conclusion, I can understand why people might want to encourage competitiveness in children, but I compeletly agree that the disadvantages of training kids to be competitive do outweigh the advantages.