As countries develop, their populations tend to live individually or in small family units. What are the causes of this trend and what are the effects on society ?

With the development of countries, the trend of nuclear families are increasing. Majority of population wishes to live as an individual or in a small family. The increasing population in cities where people migrate as well as mindset of a nuclear family has resulted in this trend. As a result there is an increase in mental health issues inspite of better standard of living. People are living in a small family unit. One of the reasons being improvement in living standards the population is migrating to cities for better amenities. Thus there is cramped space in the house for many individuals to stay and also the rising inflation leave them with poor savings. Also there is change in mindset towards nuclear families. In a recent poll conducted by CNN-IBN news channel, many chose to stay as small families instead of a large one. The effects of this change on the society are many. There is a rise in mental health issues among the general public living in the cities majorly due to lack of moral and financial support which a elder person provides in the family. Moreover children do not get the love and affection of the grandparents which is vital for their physical and mental development. According to a research published in psychiatry journal, this is quoted as one of reasons of delinquency. In conclusion, though the concept of staying as a small family unit is good, the demerits of it to the society as well to individual are in plenty. The individual and the family members need to discuss about this before the ultimate decision.