Universities and colleges are increasingly offering distance learning qualifications over the internet. Is this development a positive one?

In the contemporary era, an increasing number of universities and colleges provide online learning options for distant students. This practice has merits in expanding students ’ access to education, while arguments exist at the same time. From my perspective, it has more positive effects on both students and society. One of the major reasons contributing to my view is that distance learning endows students with opportunities and channels to further education. Some international students may indeed encounter financial difficulties while living abroad. Higher cost of living, such as rent and transportation, has become a barrier. Therefore, those who have financial problems are less capable of affording the cost of studying abroad. The long-distance curricula can effectively solve these problems by offering online courses and assignments. As a result, students can take classes online and stay at home, thereby saving the higher cost of living in other countries but enjoying the same quality of classes. Another advantage supporting my stance is that online classes enhance students ’ accessibility and prevent the spread of illnesses. In other words, students who do not meet the materialistic basis, such as those in rural areas, have limited access to high-quality classes or teacher groups. Indeed, teachers in remote areas may only teach theoretical knowledge. However, intellectuals may be restricted by the teaching environment and context. Therefore, remote learning can be an ideal platform for them to obtain a broader range of knowledge and expand their repertoire of abilities by offering lab sessions to improve students ’ handwork level. Admittedly, the long-distance learning pattern may have limitations. The boundary between study and life. At the same time, their work efficiency may be weakened by a multitude of distractions at home. For instance, students may have online classes in bed instead of remaining sedentary, thereby feeling sleepy or engaging in other recreational activities without proper monitoring. Consequently, they failed to grasp knowledge and are probably unable to graduate. In conclusion, although there are shortcomings of distant courses offered by universities and colleges, I firmly believe the advantages outweigh the disadvantages, due to their flexibility and budget-friendly effects.