Some people believe that individuals over 65 should not be allowed to continue working. Others think that people should be allowed to work for as long as they choose. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Recently, it is the opinion of some that old people should be no longer included in the workforce and retire. While there may be potential downsides of this view, others argue that the elderly should be allowed to work as long as they prefer, myself included. To begin with, it is easy to argue that hiring older employees might cause negative effects on younger people. This is because if companies keep hiring older people, it will be difficult for youths to compete with them. Consequently, young people may feel resentment and depression. Secondly, some people believe elderly people are not fully qualified for modern-day jobs in comparison with younger people. This is owing to the fact that most companies rely on cutting-edge technologies in their work. With that in mind, schools and universities teach and train their students on the basics of these technologies; therefore, they are more prepared to join the workforce. Having said that, it would be a mistake to think that everyone thinks that way. Firstly, older people can contribute in improve Change the form of the verb improving show examples the economy significantly. This is based on the fact they already have valuable experience and knowledge which most likely can help make planning for accomplishments. For instance, in the USA, many ex-employees who worked for mega-corporations such as Microsoft were hired as managers in small and mid-sized companies; as a result, these companies made remarkable success in a shorter time. Moreover, these new companies make a contribution to the local economy by the taxes they pay. What is more, allowing old people to work after their retirement age is considered a good gesture from society. The reason for this is that when society allows older ones to work, they will feel a sense of appreciation and gratitude. In conclusion, while hiring older people has several downsides such as it would be harder for young people to find jobs and being not able to cope with new technologies, I agree with those who are encouraging older people to work as this will a positive effect on the local economy as well as showing acknowledgment and recognition toward their lifetime work.