Some people believe that there will be a reduction in air travel in the future. Is this a positive or negative development?

It is the opinion of some that the usage of air travels in the future will be reduced. While there are benefits for this notion, I believe it’s drawbacks will be more significant. Admittedly, reducing the air flights is considered worthwhile for the environment. This is because all of the jet planes rely on the fossil fuel, thus they produce a toxic fume that cause a detrimental effect on the environment. With that in mind, if the air flights are reduced, this will definitely lead to minimizing the air pollution, and minimizing the effects of harmful phenomena such as the Green House. An additional advantage, many people around the world especially who live near airport, complaining from the severe noise caused by the air planes. Therefore, minimizing air flights will contribute to a better life for them as some of them might develop a medical condition due to continued exposure of these noises. Having said that, there will be a significant impact in terms of economy on multiple countries. This is due to many countries depend on the tourism as a fundamental income for its economy as the tourism industry essentially requires air travel to transport people from one country to another in matter of hours only. For example, in my country, Egypt, a substantial number of tourists come from all over the globe by the air planes, and they benefit my local country economy by the foreign currency they pay. Hence, if these tourist numbers are minimized, this will lead to a negative repercussion on economy. Secondly, several countries such as China and The United States will suffer as well as one of their prime sources for profiting is simply by exporting goods by delivering them by the air planes. In conclusion, although reducing air travels will lead to a better and clean environment, I hold the notion that it might cause an adverse effect on the economy of multiple countries around the world.