Some people have decided to reduce the number of times they fly every year or to stop flying altogether. Do you think the environmental benefits of this development outweight the disadvantages for individuals and business?

The number of flights has increased in recent years as more and more people travel by air. Some individuals believe that this is a negative development, and we should lessen the number of flights or even stop travelling by plane. Personally, I think that the disadvantages for the people and airline companies outweigh the advantages for the environment in terms of the economy and tourism industry for all countries that depend on airlines. Restricting all flights and plane services would have negative consequences on tourism industries and the economic growth of the country, as they keep the countries going that rely only on plane transportation. In addition, there are countries that landlocked by the oceans and can only boost its economy by welcoming tourists and exporting their goods to other parts of the world by planes, for instance, Japan and countries that are located on islands and don’t have any other means of transportation than flying without airline services will not be able to attract overseas visitors or to sell their products. Furthermore, the airline industry has less negative impact on the environment than other means of transportation; therefore, stopping all flights would not make big changes to the environment and would not reduce pollution and carbon dioxide, together with the emissions that transport often produces. Rather than restricting air travel, countries should reduce other means of sources of travel, like cars and trains. In conclusion, from my perspective, restricting air travel would not have any effect on the environment, and the disadvantages outweigh the advantages in the case of travelling and economic growth.