Scientists predict that all people will choose to talk the same global language in the future. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Languages are a signature to the culture in which an individual is born. It is believed by scientists that the entire world population will speak a common language in the future. In my opinion this is a negative development and it is necessary for them to exist and flourish. There are two reasons to consider these developments will negatively affect society. First of all, languages are closely associated with the local identity as well as the culture. So people forgetting their mother tongue will result in disappearance of the community. For example in the Maldives, the local indigenous tribes have got extinct because of the invasion of foreign nationals. Finally, the intricacies, the history of its origin and the ancient scriptures written will also be lost with its extinction. Hence languages are necessary to be preserved. Wars have been fought and nations have been divided on the basis of languages. The Sri Lankan war among the LTTE and SriLankan tamils is still underway and language is one of the reasons for discrimination between the two communities. At the same time, speaking a global language will stop discrimination among nations, thus improving the relationship between countries by forming a strong bond between them. Furthermore, it will be easier for students to travel for studies as well as better job opportunities in a foreign land. In summary, multiple languages should exist and the native speakers should continue conversing in their mother tongue to preserve the identity as well as the culture. However a common global language can exist for improving the relation and bonding between countries.