Some people believe that young people who commit serious crimes should be punished in the same way as adults. To what extend do you agree or disagree.

In recent times, the number of young people being convicted for various offences has drastically increased. While certain persons believe that younger people involved in serious crimes deserve to be sentenced as adults, others however do not share these views. I completely disagree however I will explain why I believe some might think everyone deserves the same punishment. There is unarguably a rise in the involvement of teenagers in crimes lately. There are many factors that might be strong contributors to this recent development. An example is peer pressure. Nevertheless, everybody child deserves hope and a future. We all make mistakes, some greater than others, but one mistake should not cost a teen their future. Adult prisons are filled with persons who have committed all sorts of crimes and exposing these children to such environments can affect their mental health. Leaving them scarred for life. Juvenile detention systems remain the best for younger folks who are offenders as they are offered services like rehabilitation and psychotherapy which enable them to become better members of society. On the other hand, others are of the opinion everyone should bear the consequences of their actions regardless of age. They think the law should not be bias just because one is young. Some argue that these younger children who get off with lighter sentences become a menace to society once they are released. For instance, in 2012, Robert Finley was convicted of first -degree murder at the tender age of 10. He was sent to juvenile prison for only 4 years and later released. Barely 2 months after his release, he raped and murdered his neighbour's daughter. Cases such as this, make strengthens the argument why they should be sent off to maximum prisons like the older convicts. In conclusion, recently, more youths are being sent off to detention centres and prisons more. while it has resulted in some people demanding the same degree of punishment for everyone, I however vehemently disagree and believe there are better ways to punish them.