IN SOME CULTURES, CHILDREN ARE OFTEN TOLD THAT THEY CAN ACHIEVE ANYTHING IF THEY TRY HARD ENOUGH. WHAT ARE THE ADVANTAGES ANS DISADVANTAGES IF GIVING CHILDREN THIS MESSAGE?

In various cultures, is it right to tell children frequently that they can attain anything if the try hard enough? Giving advice to children to strive hard will give them pressure to attain their goals, getting constant pushed and advice from parents or family can make the child work harder to obtain the desired outcome, making him/her feel that they are supported in the journey and were able to open their mind- set to some positive outcomes, gaining confidence and overcome fears in life. On the other hand, some children who were not able to receive or being told to try harder and supported does not gain the perception for achieving goals, ambition and developed poor confidence. In my opinion, children will benefit more from hearing the message “try harder” as well as being, supported, even if there are some cultural differences, no matter what culture you have if we have full support to our children, they can achieve anything. The greatest benefit of giving children this message is that they will have positive mind set, attitude and confidence that will help them in life experiences and that will improve themselves as people. Otherwise, they cannot overcome life ’s challenges. Being in Asia, growing up and fully supported by my family I was able to push through all the challenges in life. For example, I grew up in Filipino culture, my parents died when I was 10 years old and my siblings constantly pushing me to be diligent in all my endeavors, until I reached my goal to become a professional physician. All these beneficial life experiences, geared up with positive character molded me as a person. The main challenges that children will face, lacking these positive traits can pose them with massive obstacles in life. Having poor confidence, no ambition and support from others can make way to some serious troubles. For example, being a thief because they are lazy to find work to earn funds. Not going to school or college to finish and get a degree. Without motivation from others or familial support can lead to these issues. In summary, children being encouraged to try harder ultimately become more successful in their life. These positive traits will help them overcome all the hindrance they will face in their lifetime