In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the popluation in the countryside is decreasing.

This is becoming a modern trend in many pieces of the world, that more and more habitats of the countryside are moving to urban areas for a better life. This essay believes that this movement has more drawbacks and negative consequences than plus points, considering its negative effects on the agricultural sector and city infrastructure. On the one hand, mass relocation of the population to cities may lead to an erosion of cultural heritage and national identity. Traditionally, people living in rural areas are much more connected with their roots, cultures and traditions. Moving to busy cities and adopting to new reality, people losing their traditional way of living and keeping their normal routine. For instance, due to the shift work schedule, which is tipical to many entry-level jobs and long commute, they may not be able to visit a church mass every Sunday morning or pray every afternoon as they used to do back home. On the other hand, the constantly increasing urban population puts significant pressure on city infrastructure and demands additional funding for development and maintenance. Substantial investments in infrastructure may not always keep pace with the population growth. Pollution, traffic congestion, inadequate housing exacerbating people's living conditions in megapolises. In conclusion, depopulating rural areas negatively influences both the countryside and cities due to the lack of cultural aspects and traditions, which are crucial for human beings, as well as putting enormous pressure on city transport and living infrastructure. Therefore this trend should not be welcomed and should be considered as detrimental.