Over consuming sugar is unhealthy. Some people think that governments should take responsibility to control it. Others think that individuals should take responsibility for sugar intake. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Sugar consumption among people has increased inspite of being an unhealthy food. Some people argue that the government should be held responsible for this whereas others consider that it upto the concerned person to take care of himself. This essay will discuss both the arguments and in my opinion individuals should take care of their own health. Excess intake of sugar has affected peoples health by causing non-communicable disease. Firstly, it has been directly linked to obesity and atherosclerosis in the population. Doctors agree that this overconsumption has resulted in a drastic rise in stroke and myocardial infarction among general public. Also, it has addictive potential and when people continue to consume it on a regular basis it gets stored in the body as a stubborn fat-causing a plethora of diseases. There are two ways in which government can control this problem. Public awareness campaigns with the help of doctors and NGO's and frequent advertisement in electronic media and newspapers will help people in understanding this issue better. At the same time strict enforcement of laws which will regulate the amount of carbohydrate in foods and in case of excess sugars, a warning sign should be mentioned on the bottles. The recent NDTV-Apollo hospital campaign against consuming lot of sugars in various metro cities made a significant impact among the citizens to quit carbohydrate in their diet. To summarise excess sugars are dangerous for health and self-awareness of this issue among the individuals is pivotal in curbing this problem. At the same time government should actively participate to stop this practice.