Some people say that it is better to work for a large company than a small one. Do you agree or disagree?

Few individuals think it is better to be employed by a big corporation than a smaller firm. I agree completely because large companies provide more career stability and access to professional development, even though small companies offer access to work in a more closely knitted environment. First and foremost, working with a big corporation brings about a stable career and offers more benefits and opportunities. Moreover, there are laid down rules for hiring and laying off staff, and there is room for progression and frequent promotion, unlike in companies owned by individuals. In addition, big public companies make provision for training and development for their employees to upskill and add more value to the organization. For example, in big organizations, there is a yearly budget set aside for training and certification. Hence, instead of hiring a new staff member to carry out a task, they pay for training for their existing staff workers to acquire these new skills. On the other hand, small organizations give opportunities for broader roles and learning. Therefore, someone employed as a virtual assistant will also be the social media manager, graphic designer, and sales executive, thereby broadening their scope of learning. For example, a personal assistant in a law firm also doubles as a cleaner, secretary, typist, graphic designer, and delivery person. Furthermore, private organizations also provide a close-knit environment, thereby fostering the relationship between employees and the boss. For example, people who work together in a small company mostly end up as close friends or share intimate relationships. In conclusion, although privately owned companies expose employees to learning more and acquiring other job roles, large companies have more benefits regarding career stability and growth.