Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workspace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer. What, in your opinion, should be the main function of a university?

The university has been playing a prominent part in the world, especially since the third industrial revolution in which people implemented initiatives to seek solutions to their issues in a theoretical and practical manner. Though the received wisdom is the main responsibility of the university should be providing its students with adequate knowledge to be employed in the industry, there are some critics who conjecture that its main focus should be academic, without considering the requirements of various companies. However, I believe that the factors that are expected by organisations are of paramount importance. To begin with, a career is important for the majority of people around the world. The predominant reason for this is without having excellent jobs, it would be next to impossible to achieve their goals in terms of finances and lifestyles. Thus, were the universities, for instance, not to provide their followers with adequate knowledge in order to climb the career ladder, it might serve as a deterrent to pupils to university courses. Furthermore, any research should assist in solving different practical issues or enhancing certain aspects of people. In other words, no matter how advanced or complex task is, without solving a problem no one can take advantage of it. Therefore, neglecting the requirements of society and organisations in university curriculums is not only unfair but also eschews the population's expectations of such courses. In conclusion, the question of whether universities should mainly aim for industrial applications or pure academic subjects has been a debatable topic among some educationalists. Despite such arguments, I contend that the main purpose of higher education is to equip the students with sufficient knowledge to be used under various official circumstances, in a practical manner.