Should governments make decisions about people’s lifestyle, or should people make their own decisions?

People face difficult decisions in life. One could argue that individuals should rely on the government to make their lifestyle choices or they should be completely independent in making decisions. I support the former argument as it would bring advantages to both individuals and society. Firstly, the government making decisions for people has a significant benefit from a health perspective. Humans are generally inclined towards inactivity and convenience as in ancient times it was crucial in order to save energy for survival. However, with technological advances these days this natural trait places people at a disadvantage because it allows them to lead a sedentary lifestyle and choose convenience food over healthy organic food. For this reason, if the government took initiative in people ’s lifestyles, they would live life in a much healthier way. In Bermuda, for instance, fast food consumption is banned due to its negative health effects, which keeps the obesity rate in the country significantly lower than in other countries. Secondly, leaving life choices up to the government would be beneficial for the development of society. As mentioned above, individuals enjoy better health as a result of the government ’s control of their lifestyles. This would reduce the government expenses in health care, thus allowing it to allocate more funds to other areas such as education and scientific research. Therefore, with the government making decisions for citizens, it would not only bring health benefits to people, but also would promote societal development. For example, America spends 190 billion dollars every year to treat the obese, but this money could be reduced substantially if the government made their citizens lead a healthy life. In conclusion, I believe governments ought to take control of people ’s decision making in life for health and societal progress reasons. It is crucial that we strive to discover ways for every citizen in society to have a fulfilled life.